A different view of the Boston Marathon

This year was much, much different for me even though it was the second time in my life I got to see the Start Line and the Finish Line of the Boston Marathon all in one day.

Instead of running, like I did last year for the first time ever, I worked the Marathon for my new position at South Shore Hospital. I was tasked with creating a video for the Marathon team and the 19 runners who were about to tackle the 26.2 trek from Hopkinton to Boylston Street.

The day started at 5 a.m. for me. The bus rolled at 5:30 a.m. from Weymouth. Then it was point and click from there. I wanted to capture what it was like for a member of the South Shore team on one of the most joyous and nerve-filled days of the year for any runner.

I ran for the South Shore Hospital team a year ago and raised almost $11,000 for Cancer Care. So the day took me all the way back, from sitting in the Hopkinton Senior Center for hours waiting for my time to walk to the Start all the way through to Boylston Street.

I’ll be running the Chicago Marathon in October for Team Momentum and the Muscular Dystrophy Association. So I’ve definitely caught the bug so to speak. I might even do some blogging about it too. So stay tuned.

Here is the work I put in on Monday for my new career. I hope you enjoy the video.

 

Leave a Reply

