Out of my comfort zone

It was time for me to try something else in my writing career, and I got that opportunity when I interviewed with Harvard last month for a writing position.

The assignment was to go to the Graduate School of Design at Harvard and do a piece on an exhibit about housing that a group of students put together in the lobby of their building. I had to do a lot of research for this piece, because I had no clue what I was walking into. My life has been spent in sports, but this was a welcome change of pace and it has really got me thinking about writing different kinds of stories for a living.

I listened to podcasts about the concept of “urban densification”, read scholarly articles, and searched the web high and low for things that could make me the most prepared I’ve ever been going into a set of interviews.

Here’s the piece that made it on to the Harvard Gazette’s website: http://news.harvard.edu/gazette/story/2015/09/housing-that-reflects-the-world/

Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

